The Four Seasons

Thursday, 10 September 2015
Union Hall at 19:30


Richard Tognetti - project author
Joseph Tawadros - Oud
Tomaž Sevšek - Harpsichord / Chamber Organ
Axel Wolf - Theorbo / Guitar

Giovanni Gabrieli:  Sonata XXI 'con tre violini'
Joseph Tawadros (orch.R. Tognetti): Kindred Spirits
Antonio Vivaldi:  Spring (from The Four Seasons), Op.8, No.1
Joseph Tawadros (orch.R. Tognetti): Sleight of Hand
Antonio Vivaldi:  Summer (from The Four Seasons), Op.8, No.2
Joseph Tawadros (orch. R. Tognetti): Constantinople
Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto per la solennità di s. Lorenzo, RV562: II. Grave
Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto for Violin in A Minor, RV356, Op.3, No.6: III. Presto
Joseph Tawadros (orch. R. Tognetti): Permission to Evaporate
Joseph Tawadros (orch. R. Tognetti): Give or Take
Antonio Vivaldi: Autumn (from The Four Seasons), Op.8, No.3
Benedetto Marcello:  Sinfonia (from Il pianto e il riso delle quattro stagioni): II. Andante
Joseph Tawadros (orch. R. Tognetti): Point of Departure
Antonio Vivaldi: Winter (from The Four Seasons), Op.8, No.4
Joseph Tawadros (orch. R. Tognetti): Eye of Beholder


Vivaldi’s Four Seasons has undergone many reincarnations since it was first performed by the talented orphans of the Ospedale della Pietà in the 18th century Venice. Now, the Maribor Festival Artistic director Richard Tognetti and Joseph Tawadros aim to produce their own blend of musical alchemy in this program, reminding us that Venice is barely a day’s sail from Cairo.
Expect musical sparks while exploring the theme of East meets West with Vivaldi's iconic masterpiece and the sounds of the Near East in a selection of original works by Joseph Tawadros.