Wednesday, 16 September 2015
Union Hall at 19:30


Richard Tognetti - violin
Satu Vänskä - violin
Nathan Braude - viola
Jaka Stadler - cello
Polina Leschenko - piano

Rebecca Clarke: Sonata for Viola and Piano
Frédéric Chopin:  Introduction and Polonaise brillante in C Major, Op. 3 (piano and viola version)
Antonín Dvořák: Piano Quintet No. 2 in A Major, Op. 81, B. 155


˝And when I had that one little whiff of success that I've had in my life, with the Viola Sonata, the rumour went around, I hear, that I hadn't written the stuff myself, that somebody had done it for me. And I even got one or two little bits of press clippings saying that it was impossible, that I couldn't have written it myself. And the funniest of all was that I had a clipping once which said that I didn't exist, there wasn't any such person as Rebecca Clarke, that it was a pseudonym for Ernest Bloch!˝

Clarke's musical language points to a broad range of stylistic contexts; an intense lyricism and richness of the textures signify her work. In her lifetime Clarke published only twenty compositions, there were extensive periods in which she wrote very little, and she eventually gave up composing altogether. Although only known to a small number of music enthusiasts and unknown to the general public, Rebecca Clarke is today considered as one of the most important female composers of the early 20th century.

Clarke´s male colleagues Chopin and Dvořák are the two other well-known and beloved treasures of the presented program.